A new strategy at the hairdresser

I don’t know if anyone has already read this but a man was given a jail sentence recently for cutting off his girlfriend’s ponytail (after a row, I assume, not just as a joke). She had taken him to court and the judge had laughed at her, so she appealed and the Court of Appeal ruled that it was actual bodily harm as “a person’s hair is their crowning achievement”. Which shows for a start that the Court of Appeal are a bunch of pretentious no-marks.

This throws up two questions:

(1) Is it that bad to cut someone’s hair off? I know it takes girls longer to grow back, but when I think of some of the other offences that come under the banner of ABH I am not convinced about this. Comments welcome. The longer your hair the more credibility you will have!

(2) Can I get my hairdresser locked up next time I get a dodgy haircut?

5 thoughts on “A new strategy at the hairdresser

  1. It is mean and horrible and deserves a dumping. It clearly isn’t ABH though- you’re not hurt in any physical way are you.

    You shouldn’t blame the hairdresser for your ugliness!

  2. If you look up Actual Bodily Harm on Wikipedia it pretty much covers it. I was very surprised!

  3. I think if anyone cut off my hair I would be wanted for murder! I think the judge who first laughed at her should be sacked for starters! And yes, hairdressers should be accountable for shoddy work, but if you keep going back to them then it’s your fault!

  4. Something isn’t right about that story. My understanding is that in the criminal courts, charges are brought by the Crown, and that therefore the ‘victim’ doesn’t have a right of appeal. Once the charges are dismissed, that’s it.

    On the other hand, it’s entirely possible that this was brought through the civil courts, in which the plaintiff can appeal. However, the civil courts can’t send someone to prison, or give a criminal record, only assign compensation.

    It sounds like this might have been brought through the civil courts, thrown out, appealed and won, and the man then refused to pay, whereupon he was sent to jail.

    Which, frankly, seems about right. Cutting someone’s hair against their will doesn’t really sound worthy of jail time in itself (technically, it’s assault, but so is tapping someone on the shoulder to get their attention), but it is something that’s worthy of compensation. And, of course, refusal to pay the court-mandated compensation is something you should go to jail for.

  5. Molly, you have a good point.

    Stephen, so do you…

    Hmm… Can’t really remember too much about this now as I read it in the free paper on the bus to work!

    If you look at Wikipedia it is quite clear, however, that cutting off someone’s hair is actual bodily harm as long as they are a woman. How fair or unfair that is is a whole separate debate!

Comments are closed.