Got to love the French

I do love la belle France and the French. I always plan to write more on this topic.

Here is one good reason to love those crazy grenouilles. It is taken from a label of a laptop bag sold in the US (but made in France!). Investigation uncovered several hundred made in the same manner.

If you can’t quite read it, it says “Nous sommes desoles que notre president soit un idiot. Nous n’avons pas vote pour lui.” (Acutes have been removed as I can’t work out how to include them!)

For the non-Francophones this is (roughly) “We are sorry that our President is an idiot. We didn’t vote for him.”

Well done France.

15 thoughts on “Got to love the French

  1. HILARIOUS!!!

    I’m taking your word for it, I don’t speak French…that is just so funny!

  2. Right so when can I expect to see Burton’s and Topman clothes labeled with:

    “Yes we know the country is falling apart, but at least we still have our stiff upper lip”

  3. Sorry to take this completely off topic but I am majorly procrastinating and I just found a Post by Juliet about Tom Robs old carer tripping her over with the help of a blind girl.

    It is probably the funniest thing I have read in a long time and I actually LOL (sorry chris) so much so I nearly fell of the rickety chair I am sitting on. I imagine it is old new but I just wanted to share it with you all again.

    http://andthentherewaschocolate.blogspot.com/2006/06/very-old-but-amusing-memory.html

  4. J – did you not hear that story when Tom first did it?! It was fantastic – Tom was SO proud of himself and the whole of Disability Services thought it was hysterical (whilst obviously also being aware of the dodgy ethical issues about it etc etc). If there had been an award for Best PA story he so would have won.

  5. Look at what I found in the dictionary of all places:

    1. frog
    Anybody that is from France
    Listen to Jacques Chiraq croak like a bullfrog on the Champs Elysees on the way to the Elysee Palace!

    Okay so it was the Urban Dictionary and not the real dictionary but I had to share!

  6. No, fair play J, that was the funniest thing I had heard at the time too, and probably still rates in my top five (although Juliet does many amusing things). It is okay to lol about such things (as in they are actually amusing and they make you make a noise, i.e. out loud.

    Tom – legend.

    Molly, calling the French frogs is completely unacceptable. I am considering barring you from this website. You have been bad.

  7. I love that! As labels go that one goes at the top of my list of favourites I think 🙂

    x

  8. Hmm, I did not refer to the French as frogs, I merely looked up the word frog in the dictionary and that is what it gave me! It’s not my fault someone else printed it!

    PS: I like to be bad! Mwaa ha ha!

  9. Ellie, I am incredibly excited by the idea of a list of favourite labels. Please could you post more about this please. Maybe a top five or something?

    Molly, hands off my laugh, beeyatch.

    “Mwah ha ha!”

  10. I am cross that you are all laughing at me in a completely unrelated post. I am also cross that all of disability services was laughing at me.

    I am also pleased you are advising people to boycott Welshy’s blog, and stongly support the boycott.

    On the actual topic, the French are funny- where is the picture from?

  11. I’m not laughing at you! (anymore) Why are you supporting the boycott? That’s not very nice. I might not buy you cheesecake.

  12. I’ll have the spare piece of cheesecake! now you aren’t giving it to her I will have it

Comments are closed.