Just like this time

It has occurred to me that I spend a lot of time puling* and whining about what I don’t like but rarely about what I do like without some kind of qualifying remarks… so here is an unashamedly upbeat post about books and films you should all see. Flash Gordon didn’t quite make the shortlist sadly, I hope you can forgive me.

Films
1. Being John Malkovich
2. Memento
3. The Hunchback of Notre Dame (Disney version)
4. The Prestige
5. Joyeux Noel

Books
1. Immortality by Milan Kundera
2. Hard Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World by Haruki Murakami
3. Vurt by Jeff Noon
4. The Boy who Reversed Himself by William Sleator
5. A Dog Called Demolition by Robert Rankin

You should all have seen all five and read all (other) five. If you haven’t then what are you waiting for?!

* I have used this word to show that it exists and I wasn’t cheating when I used it in that game of Scrabble, Juliet!

9 thoughts on “Just like this time

  1. Well that’s an interesting list.

    Very interesting.

    And just because you can use a word in a sentence doesn’t mean you don’t cheat at Scrabble.

  2. I have to admit I’ve never seen/read any of those. So as far as a getting to know you post goes, that one was pretty useless.

    See, redhead enthusiasm comes in handy 🙂

  3. Hmmm, not convinced about that word… Fiddlesticks, I went to look for the Scrabble dictionary to see if you were telling a porkie and trying to use your blog to justify it, but it’s hiding. However, when I find it I shall be back. Mwah ha ha!!!

  4. Ms B, I do cheat at Scrabble. In fact I am dreadful at it in general, as I always take too long!

    Ms Phish, it is supposed to be stimulating… I went for unusual ones, assuming there would be something new there for most people. Go and read or see one, you will (perhaps) love it!

    Rosanna, glad you enjoyed it, I have bought about 8 copies for various Christmas/birthday presents… I am trying to popularise it in this country, but it is slow work!

    And Kezzie, fiddlesticks straight back at you. I await your grovelling apology! :o)

  5. This is gross, but I always picture puling as involving a bit of milky spittle.

    Probably because it sounds like “puking”, and it’s usually an infant that is referred to as puling.

    Anyway.

    : )

Comments are closed.