It was the best of times, it was the worst of times

Blogging; less popular these days than it once was, I feel. (I don’t just mean with me, and yes I know I am lazy, Molly, before you start!)

Blogs have their uses though. There was something on the telly-box the other day with Billie Piper in, a series, possibly about a lady of easy virtue, I couldn’t tell. I nearly watched it, nearly, as I knew I would write something about it. But then I didn’t. Sorry. The point I am (not) making is it was based on someone’s blog, you see.

Then I was in Waterstones the other day and I noticed that Petite Anglaise has been turned into a novel of sorts, which I found very exciting. I haven’t bought it yet, but probably will, once I have paid my council tax and gas bill, etc, and convinced RJ to stop breaking bits of the car.

What surprised me, on this fine, spring, Waterstones day, was that there wasn’t a single book in this alleged book shop written by me. I found myself wondering why I haven’t yet made my fortune by reinventing the modern novel.

So I went home and brainstormed a few ideas:

1. Wizard school
2. Jesus had children and hid them under the Louvre
3. Bad ring means short people have to go hiking for ever

but decided I was a bit derivative

So anyway, that is my new project. To revoutionise the 21st Century European novel. Ideas gratefully received.

Now I have to think of a good start…

“It is a truth, universally acknowledged, that a man in possession of an unfulfilling job must be in want of a best-seller…”

I’ll work on it.

5 thoughts on “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times

  1. You are entirely too funny! I love your sense of humor. I’m sure if you write a book, you’ll be able to quit your day job.:)

  2. He could write a book Christy, but he is (as he pointed out) far too lazy! I would sooo love for you to write a book and it contained a spelling mistake, and hundreds and thousands of copies had been printed and there was nothing you could do about it! Mwahahaha!

    Sorry, evil Molly just took over for a few seconds there.

  3. maybe a series about a girl detective and her two friends and alliterative boyfriend and.. oh wait.

  4. Have we gone back to blogging once a year? I think you have influenced Welshy – she keeps using having no internet as an excuse but I am afraid I think you have led her over to the dark side of not blogging!

  5. It’s the sad reality of being part of the MTV generation.

    We get super-excited about things and then we’re over them five minutes later. I got right into blogging when I started and now I just can’t be arsed even though all manner of things have happened to me recently.

    At least you have a harem of admirers begging you to continue blogging – even at my most prolific, people barely even commented on mine!

Comments are closed.