The joy of ex(cel)

Have you ever been to a party and been drinking a can of Coke*? Sure you have. You reach across to have a swig of the over-sweet beverage, but instead manage to pick up the can that everyone has been using as an ashtray.

The point I’m trying to make is that the sensation you are expecting and the sensation you experience are staggeringly different.

This is how I felt when I first used Excel 2007 (a couple of weeks ago).

I still feel partly this way, although I am getting used to it. However, I have now agreed to run a seminar for the rest of the people I work with on “the main differences between Excel 2003 and 2007 and how to overcome them” or something like that.

Does anyone who actually has a clue about such things have any tips?

 

* or Pepsi, or Irn Bru, it still works

3 thoughts on “The joy of ex(cel)

  1. The main difference:

    “In Excel 2003, it is actually possible to do things. The interface, while not the best possible interface in the world, looks and feels like the interface used by every other computer program out there.

    Excel 2007 represents a vast improvement on the old interface, cunningly adopting a scheme that is nothing like any other program, that is nothing like the interface you are used to, and which cunningly hides all the functions you want to use in a menu system that is much more intuitive and useable. Therefore, much like a room that’s just been tidied by a complete stranger, you can’t actually do anything.”

    Yes, I am bitter. How did you know?

  2. I don’t think it’s more intuitive – in fact I find it less intuitive; with the functionality hidden away. Grr…

    Also, the grouping of functionality into the tabs is simply wrong in some cases.
    Aah!

  3. Glad to see it is popular!

    My main problem is that all the clever macros I use now no longer work.

    I think if they did I could forgive all the pointless rearrangement.

Comments are closed.