Night class shenanigans

Me and the wife* have plunged ourselves into the murky underworld that is taking a night class, despite the assurances of almost every single person I have ever met** that it is completely soul destroying.

Surprisingly, we don’t seem to be suffering the same fate as most, and all the people who started are still there three months later.

However, the teaching quality is not very good. Main methods seem to be rushing through lots of vocab with no time to make notes and surfing youtube for material to watch while we are waiting.

So, hordes of commenters, how can I go about improving the teaching quality? Bitter experience suggests that telling the teacher she is no good will not yield the results I want! (Also bear in mind she is the assessor for the course!)

Anonymous complaint letters also seem to be a poor idea.

Getting RJ to complain and take the flak while I sail through with flying colours does seem to have a certain charm…

Any ideas?

* yes, yes, I know
** who has taken a night class

7 thoughts on “Night class shenanigans

  1. Do you think so?

    In that case I can reveal that I am learning sign language.

    Careful though, I need to retain some mystery to keep me interesting.

  2. The best thing to do is to pick a course with a good quality of teaching. This negates the need to make improvements. If for some reason you find yourself without a time machine, I would instead recommend asking questions. Lots and lots of questions.

    You could even team up with RJ to alternate questions, and while one gets their answer, the other frantically scribbles notes on the last bit of vocabulary. At least then you should each have notes from half of the lesson by the end.

    Incidentally, I didn’t realise night classes were supposed to be soul-destroying. Does that mean I’ve been doing it wrong?

  3. ooh sign language! But you still retain the greater mystery of WHY you are learning it.

    Also, maybe she just can’t hear your criticisms?

    ZING!!!

  4. Yes Stephen you are clearly doing it wrong. Everyone knows that evening classes peter out due to mass apathy after 2-5 weeks.

    Maybe it is different in Scotland?

    I ask a lot of questions already, I do that when it is good teaching too though. What do they call it these days…? It is my “learning style”!

    … or, I am an annoying arse. Or both.

    One of the problems of signing as a language is you are more reliant on teaching staff than most – resources are incredibly scarce compared to, say, French! Another problem is that making notes on a sign and its meaning is a bit laborious compared to noting, say, a spelling.

    I imagine it is similarly difficult for, say, cabinet making, which I am also keen to try at some point.

    Sod: excellent skills at mocking the deaf, although they tend to frown upon that. But then they frown a lot, sign language is like that.

    (It’s also very interesting, I recommend it to everyone.)

Comments are closed.