Wine

On the back label of most bottles of wine you get a brief description of what the people who bottle it think you should be eating as you drink. So on a fruity cabernet you might get a recommendation for rare steak, whereas a sauvignon blanc might do better with fish.

Since I only drink the very finest of fine wines, preferably from a crystal goblet, I had missed the recent* tendency to extend this to foods people in this hopeless age can relate to.

Here are some of the best ones I’ve seen:

(Rose): Wonderful compliment (sic) to pizzas or chinese takeaway.

(Red): Great with barbecues.

(White): Fantastic with white and red meats, with fish or with vegetarian food. Also with buffet or in fact just by itself. Super for sharing with friends in front of the telly, or just for drinking on your own (straight from the bottle you loser).

All right, the last one wasn’t verbatim, but it was more like that than you would think.

* or possibly not recent, you tell me.

7 thoughts on “Wine

  1. I saw a great one the other day (yes, in 2010) on the back of a bottle – it suggested that this bottle would be great to cellar for at least 12 months and for best results cellar until early 2009.

    Needless to say, I did not buy the said bottle, instead I bought one that promised plums, fruity aromas and that was apparently perfect to drink with meals or on its own and you know what? It was perfect on its own but I never did taste those plums ūüė¶

  2. Aw, I was going to say the last one was brilliant marketing until you revealed you’d made it up.

  3. Ellie, I might be inclined to boycott the entire store!

    Who knows if they’re altering the best before date on the squid rings?!

    Good luck with finding plums anyway, I recommend a nice merlot.

    Sod, just because I make it up doesn’t mean it can’t be brilliant marketing. I have many and varied talents, dontchaknow.

  4. It’s sad that I know that you are pronouncing it “Mur-lott”?

    That TAFKALT has a lot to answer for!

Comments are closed.